business / Economy / Management

Do we need the new?

“Practice does not make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect.” said by Vince Lombardi Jr.

IMG-20130113-00379

Currently, I am trying to bring this quote to life. The picture displays my current view while the thoughts in my head are empty. Being one of these writing 20-year-old girls, trying to find my way I decided to engage in Project Management and learn more about it. Organizing, Communicating – it sounds like fun, right? So searching the Internet, I found this debate which is going on for quite a while now, whether traditional or Agile Project Management is better. What am I talking about? Let’s translate it, taking the definition of Journalist Margaret Rouse: An Agile Project is divided into small sections which are reviewed and discussed by clients and employees. That why, necessary changes can be made during the project.

Is the Agile Method superior to the Traditional Method?

Okay, so around 2006, the Agile style was introduced to the major professional project managers. As the Traditional Method has already evolved over a long time, Raj Mohan, Journalist and Program Manager, argues that this would therefore be a safe bet. Mark Phillipy, Journalist and Senior Program Manager combines the two, while Steve Starke, former leader of Project Management Departments is convinced by the Agile style.

According to Raj Mohan, Agile with its many reviews and discussions is suited for short-living products, in risk taking environments, for strengthening an organization’s culture via communication and small teams and to gain trust and respect between individuals. Starke used the Agile Approach for many years by now with experienced team members and profits from the continuous integration process. He has developed this chain to show the approach of many organizations:

Program-Management-1

 He argues, however, that it should look like this:

Program-Management-2

Starke says that Agile Development is only one part in an organization which is overviewed by the head of the Program Management. Therefore it is one part of the overall overview which is neat and makes it easier to keep the big picture. Big picture, I like that one. Just finding out about some details is so interesting that I cannot wait trying the Methods out myself. Long way to go though, that really scares me now. When not even the professionals agree, what worth is my opinion in this business? So let’s continue with a rather professional voice – Starke still argues that Agile is great, as there are many smaller teams with who all have a head of the team, thus leaving the Program Manager with humanly manageable work instead of so much work that would rather lead to failure.

Let’s get Phillipy to this debate: Like most professionals, he is combining both styles, compromising the Traditional Approach with the Agile one to get most advantages from both. In contrast, Mohan describes Agile as an alternative in his posts, but thinks that the Traditional Approach will stay.

So what are the challenges to be solved? In the Agile Style, Phillipy points out that communication level is higher and therefore more experienced employees are needed. The team members must be trained in the methodology to understand their role. Mohan added that a team in a rather big organization might not be located in one place, therefore communication is challenged.

A challenging organization and communication sounds exactly like what I am looking for – so still, I am sticking with Project Management, it’s hell interesting, isn’t it? Two weeks from now, I will have gained more insight and continue blogging about this!

3 thoughts on “Do we need the new?

  1. Glad to find other people interested in PM. I just recently got introduced to it and I’m sorta excited about know more about it.

    Currently I run projects at my company but I feel I need a system to keep myself and the team accountable.

    It does seem like there will be some fruits from learning this process.

    I must say I’m really new to PM and I’ve kind of heard of Agile so I can give much of an opinion right now.

    Thank for the post though. Glad to connect and keep learning from your blog.

  2. Hey Charlene,
    I can observe that Project Management as a topic really caught your attention to the fullest since in your post you really seem to have done a lot of research and I as a reader get the feeling that you really deal with it.
    I especially liked your introduction because you literally lead the reader to what you actually discuss in the paragraph below. It’s good you gave a definition because I was not really sure what agile project management was – now I am. For those kind of definitions you could also use links to pages where these terms are explained. Also to the blogs you cite from you could add links so your readers can easily follow your research.
    You speak intensively about communication. Maybe a linkage from communication to technology might be interesting? By this you could relate again to your previous topic and perfectly align both research approaches. What I am curious about is how (what type of technology) do Project Managers actually manage their projects and what control systems do they use?
    Furthermore you chose very good images to support your research and they give more information on how projects are mapped and that in a visual way. Well done!
    Let’s discuss the development of your research while having a cup of tea next week?

    I’m looking forward to read your next post.

  3. Hey Charlene,
    when i read your introduction i was a little confused in the beginning. i didn’t really understand what that was going to be about. But, continuing reading, you not only grabbed my curiosity but also my attention. This is a very interesting topic and you seem to know quite a lot about ir. You have done a very good research and presented your information in a very clear and logical way.
    I can’t wait to read more on this in the following weeks.

Leave a Reply

